Summer

Ah summer…I can only wait until you come again. Sigh, I love summer and everything that comes with it. The freedom, ice cream, late (and I mean late) nights with family and friends, and my favorite-trips! This summer I had the opprotunity to go to Arkansas, Minneapolis, Camp, and Chicago my hometown. I had so much fun learning new things and experience life at it’s fullest. While in Chicago, I served at a homeless shelter in the bad part of town. There  were two buildings, one for the men and one for the women. We walked to the women’s building to serve lunch (taco in a bag- a ND specialty) and before we reached our destination, we saw a little boy drinking the filthy, reused sprinkler water by the basketball court. It just broke my heart to think about how we just grab a coke out of the fridge like it’s no big deal but really, we are so blessed to even have a refrigerator! Can you even imagine going to get a drink from a filthy sprinkler?? We would be grossed out and walk away, and honestly that’s just sad. So, I think we should all at least consider what other people are going through before we pop open a diet coke or pull out our iphones. Another thing I did this summer was Minneapolis. Naturally being a big city girl, I soaked up the sights and sounds of big city culture with two of my best friends in the whole world! We went to the sculpture garden around 11 p.m. There were hundreds of people yelling, running, and singing everywhere! The combination of all of those things plus fireworks lighting up the sky made me a little emotional about how amazing God is and how he put me there at that time to see what he has made. What was your favorite thing you did this summer?

Leave a Reply

